A Father’s Take on Baby Clothing

Before I write this post, I need to note that I love my wife for her imagination, her sense of style and fashion, her ability to pick and place elements of clothing and design in her head and have them turn out in a magnificent way. All the things I just said about my wife, cannot be said about myself. I have always been a little more plain, I have enjoyed salvation army flannel shirts, vans sneakers, band t-shirts, and basic accessories. My wife has brought a sense of fashion dignity into my life. As much as I fight it, I dress well because of my life. Still, for the most part, I fight the idea of vanity, in no way should a pair of jeans cost $100.00 after being beaten to a pulp and tears made in pre-planned places, cowboy shirts and other current fashions should not be taken off the racks of the current hipster clothing store and then toted as being an original thought. I am ready for the clothing I have been wearing for the past 12 years to not be fashionable anymore.

That entire rant is just a way to describe how I feel about the entire process about shopping for a newborn. The fact is that our soon to be baby will grow out of clothing before it can wear an outfit more than 5 or 6 times (if we are lucky.) Jenna will undoubtedly pass on amazing fashion to Our Littlest, people will comment on the clothing choices and will smile when they see the clothing. However, I am looking to pass on something that are dear to me as well, a Father’s take on baby clothing and fashion. I am not saying that I want the child to have to wear 10-year-old clothing to earn street credit and learn how to be pretentious and un-pius at an early age, though hopefully with a push that will happen. I want to pass on elements of my life that have carried me through for the past 16 years or so.

Here are some fashion picks, I will attempt to pander off to my wife as a good idea. Old School Hardcore/Punk/Metal band onsies and zip-up hoodies, Baby Vans or Chuck Taylors, baby cut-off camo shorts, and an old baby camera to tote. Examples:


All of these amazing baby clothing options are available at http://www.revhq.com if there are any possible buyers out there reading this post. Bottom line, I want our child to be diverse in understanding of life, when it outgrows these amazing garments, I will then make them into a blanket that it can obsessively carry around forever, and it will still be cool.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment